LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In Place Element Structure style/usage guide

Solved!
Go to solution

Attached is a two part diagram.  The top half has the In Place Element Structure surrounding the entire loop.  The bottom half has the In Place Element Structure surrounding only the part of the structure portion of an array element that is modified.  The smaller In Place Element Structure is the only place that the array elements are modified.  Since I am new to the usage of In Place Element Structures, I would like to know the pros and cons to both methods of encapsulating the data modification.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,645 Views)

I do not know about pros/cons, but a few things I consider.

1)  Most times the IPE is not really necessary, and certain operations will not be "in place" just because the IPE is used.  That said, sometimes the better look is enough reason to use.

2) There is certainly a small overhead each time the IPE is invoked to acquire the resource and lock other instances.  This argues against repeated usage inside a loop or sprinkling too many of them around the BD.

3) The lock is applied as long as the code inside the IPE is running, this argues against enclosing more code than necessary inside the IPE if the resource is shared.  (Apparently not the case here, but with DVRs certainly possible).

I use your lower construction much more often, I prefer to see the IPE at a glance.

Message 2 of 9
(5,636 Views)

Don't forget that LabVIEW has good inplaceness algorithms so the structure might not be needed at all. It is difficult to tell how the rest of the code looks like. Is this a subVI? How is it called within the main VI? For example, if that cluster array is kept in a shift register in the main VI, you could inline the subVI (newest LabVIEW version only).

You could also look into data value references to truly operate only on a single copy.