LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Images measuring light intensity

Hello,

I am an undergraduate researcher doing work on laser beams, and I need help creating a labview program that will show the light intensity of images. I would like for the image to look like the image that is attached to this post.

Does anyone have any idea how to achieve this?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,090 Views)

What have you tried so far?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,073 Views)

Hi Romanus58,

In order to help you, we need a bit more of information so can you explain the hardware you are using to acquire data. What have you done so far in LabVIEW?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,006 Views)

Hello,

I have this question as well. Actually I am using Edmund Optics Camera (EO-2013c) and save the images of laser beam focused on camera detector. The pixel depth of camera is 8-bit and I am saving the images as PNG format using "write PNG file.vi".

The thing that I am in quest of is Intensity and by intensity I mean the common definition which is "the energy recieved per unit time per unit area". If I take out the color planes(Red,Green,Blue,Hue,Saturation,Luminance,Intensity) of image in each of color modes available in labview (RGB,HSV,HSL), I can get numbers in 0-255 (8-bit) range but I think non of these are giving me the intensity which I am looking for because the numbers are different from plane to plane as it is supposed to be.
I have this question :
Is there any way that I can extract a unique number indicating the intensity which I am looking for? I don't think so if Light meter VI or grayscale could help me because they all give me the same information as I could get from color planes.
What about Power Spectral Density?

I am sorry that I don't upload my VI because it is not an integrated VI and also I am using some built-in camera software to save images. I also can not get intensity information from camera directly but the color planes!

Cheers,