From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If my VI used .NET, what do I need to bundle into my installer

Hi,

I've been using LabVIEW for many years, but I am new to .NET.

I would like to use some basic .NET functions in my application (using LabVIEW 2020).  The application will be compiled into an EXE and distributed to customers through an installer (using LabVIEW Application Builder). 

My question is:  What  do I need to include in my installer to ensure my .NET functions will work properly on the target machine?   

http://www.medicollector.com
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(699 Views)

There is nothing specific from a LabVIEW perspective (the runtime handles the COM CLR hosting) but you may need to add additional installers from outside LabVIEW. Depends on what .NET assemblies you are using.

• If you are only using assemblies from the Framework itself, then the client only needs the "same" version of .NET Framework (or higher if 4.x). Depending on the OS, you may not even need an installer at all but I'd suggest including one anyway since that might be outside your control. You can download offline installers from Microsoft.
  • If you are using assemblies from another source (from a vendor or similar) then you need to include those assemblies and/or any installers that came with that package you used to develop with.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(668 Views)

Thank you.  This was helpful.  I had a couple follow up questions:

• Is there a way to programmatically detect which version (if any) of .NET framework is installed?  Without crashing?  I am guessing I could make a basic .NET call and see if it fails, but am concerned it might crash if .NET is not installed.