From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ICT L70 bill acceptor

Hello guys, I need help on getting information from a bill acceptor device (ICT L70) to LabVIEW. I am not really sure how would this works. I am new to LabVIEW and currently on internship. This is my first task from supervisor and he gave me no help, but expect I learn everthing myself. I cannot find much information about it online on how to read data from the bill acceptor device and thus, I have no choice but to seek help here. My expected outcome would be constructing a VI which read how much the machine had accepted, i could make a VI, but I am just not sure how my computer could read from the hardware. As from what I have obtained from web, the hardware supported by LabVIEW must be from NI company. Is that true ? Help me guys. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(6,670 Views)

Hello,

Sounds like you're in a tough situation - learning LabVIEW on your own is hard. But just keep at it! If you work hard, you'll be able to figure it out. LabVIEW can interface with many types of hardware, it doesn't have to be NI. Do you have a manual for the bill acceptor? Try to look in the manual for what kind of interface it uses (eg: RS232, USB, ethernet, etc). For most interfaces, you can probably use the VISA VIs to communicate with it. See if you can find the specifications for the data transfer protocol in the manual. Like, it should tell you in what format you should send commands in, and in what format you can expect responses back from the instrument. Then you can write VIs to send those commands with VISA Write and then use VISA Read to get back the responses.

--Hope

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(6,638 Views)