From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2C comms using IMU and FPGA on sbRIO

Hi,

I'm new to the I2C protocol (and any digital comms) and am currently working on a project which uses a MPU-9250 IMU. To get some basic knowledge, I've taken a look at the shipped FPGA examples and examples people have posted on here. I now have a basic working system, which seems to be reading data, however I would however appreciate some help with some tweaks to getting the system working as I would like.

I'm running the FPGA Host example which I've compiled and run on my sbRIO-9627. I've attached a screen shot of the modifed built-in example host VI, where I'm using a For Loop on the VI to write individual addresses and then read the data bite one address at a time. The RT loop is currently reading at 100hz which should be ok for my purposes. However, the major issue I have is that the signals I can see on the sbrio graphs are updating about 2-3secs after i move the IMU. 

I've tried using different clock rates and anything slower than 100kHz seems will slow down host RT loop rate. Can anyone provide some pointers to 1) identify a better method to get data from the IMU 2) what I can do to ensure the data is not lagging from input to screen update.

Ideally I'd like to have the system running at 1kHz but that's the next step!

Using LV2015SP1, RT2015SP1, FPGA,

Register map sheet for IMU is here: https://cdn.sparkfun.com/assets/learn_tutorials/5/5/0/MPU-9250-Register-Map.pdf

Thanks,
Dave

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,950 Views)

Hi Dava,