From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I want to fill and empty a tank automatically can this be achieved without the use of local variables?

Solved!
Go to solution

Gurus of Labview,

I have a Project to complete and i am new to labview, I have student version 2009. and want to build an initial vi of a Municipal water trteatment plant TO FILL AND EMPTY TANKS. I am using the DSC module to help and I can get my tanks to complete a sequence, however it uses local variables. They cannot be shared on the network when I create my libraries.  Need help urgently..

Casey74

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(10,703 Views)
That should be easy to do.

Simply make the tank an indicator and use a state machine architecture.
Can you show us what you made so far ?

You could keep the tank level in a shift register or action engine.

(Sorry I'm a bit brief, posted via smart phone from the middle of nowhere)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(10,688 Views)

Thx altenbach,

Will have to wait till later to show what i have achieved as i am at work presently, vi is on my home PC. 

I have used a flat sequence with a tank on a for loop of 100 adding very crude I know but it worked, so my tank will always go to a hundred, then in the next frame use the local variable of the tank to count down from hundred. I have tried to create the project but as you know feedback nodes, local variables etc will not publish correctly or at all. I have several tanks in the vi all performing the same type of function all in the flat sequence. Booleans switch on/off in relation to the fill/empty sequence.

New to this type of programming all help welcome......

Casey74

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(10,671 Views)