From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I want to create a traffic light sequence in labview

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm very new to Labview(first post here) and am learning by trying some simple things.

I'm trying to create a continuous running traffic light system, RED, THEN RED AND AMBER, THEN JUST GREEN, THEN JUST AMBER, THEN JUST RED, and repeat the sequence.

I've got 3 LED's of the 3 colours and at the moment they run, RED, THEN RED AND AMBER, THEN RED AND AMBER AND GREEN, THEN ALL OFF, and the sequence then repeats.

I've used a case structure within a while loop.  Set a state for each colour and the reset(all off).  Straight forward I think.

Does anyone have any tips on how i might add to what I've got to create the aforementioned traffic light sequence? 

Many thanks for your time.

PJ.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(24,753 Views)

Since you are learning you get an image and not a snippet or vi. 

TrafficLight.png

The key is the array of clusters, each cluster has a ring and an integer.  The ring has descriptive names for each state and a value.  You must uncheck 'sequential values' and then give each state a value which corresponds to the binary equivalent of the state (exercise for the reader).  Array to Cluster must be configured to output the correct size cluster (3).

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(24,735 Views)

Hey PJ,

Just a hint for when you are asking for help......  attach your vi. 

Most of the time it is easier for someone to see what you have done so far and then nudge you in the right direction.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(24,734 Views)

Thanks for the image and the help Darin.

I understand some parts but the other bits are new to me but I will endeavor to work them out.