From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to write a feedback loop or shift register to toggle a boolean during while loop

I have a sensor constantly reading values during a loop, and I need to have a boolean toggle to 1 when a maximum value is reached, and then to 0 when a minimum value is reached. I will be reading a sinusoidal pressure measurement and it is important to know if I am on the ascent or descent. For instance, let's say min: (less than or eq) 2, max: (greater than or eq) 5. The issue I am having is that I am a novice and only able to set a boolean to be 1 if it is = or > than a value. This is an issue because a value of 3.5 could have a boolean of 0 or 1 depending if it is in the ascent or descent. I'd also strongly prefer not to read the slope real time to determine this, as I don't think it would be accurate and reliable.

I'm sure this is very simple to an expert, does anyone have a vi that can do this? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,277 Views)

@jd555 wrote:

I'm sure this is very simple to an expert, does anyone have a vi that can do this? 

Yes, it is very simple, but we can help better if you show us your failed attempts (attach your broken VI!), so we get more context. Nobody wants to start from scratch with too many vague points. 😉

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,268 Views)

@altenbach wrote:
... too many vague points. 

Some vague points:

• What is continuously?
  • What is the typical noise?
  • What is the amplitude and range of the measurement data?