From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to toggle between states only once when a button is pressed and stay in that state until button is pressed again?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to LabView and I am really struggling toggling between states when a button is pressed. The state should only change once per button click. and the state should remain until the next button click. I tried it with an additional register which holds a boolean whether the state was changed and if yes set it to false if the button was released but it is not working and super complex. You find the basic setup in the VI I uploaded. How would I achieve the desired behavior? Do I really have to manage multiple variable in order to check whether the state was already changed?

Additionally, how would I wait in the inactive state for the next button click to change the state so that there are no unnecessary loops. I am really struggling for some time but nothing works + it is just messy trying to manage multiple shift registers to really only change once per button click (pressed).

I would appreciate any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,547 Views)

Just use a button with the Mechanical Action set to Switch When Pressed.  Then you can just wire the sensor straight to the case structure.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 12
(1,538 Views)