cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to take step measurements with standard state machine

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am fairly new to labVIEW so please bear with me. I am using LabVIEW 2011 SP1 and I am working with the standard state machine design pattern so that I can take step measurements (vi is attached). The way I have it set up is as follows:

Start
Process 1: Set the monochromator to a wavelength with the command “!GW xxx” where xxx is the wavelength. Action (query) is “write”.
Process 2: Read the voltage measurement and save it in a csv file.
Stop

So this process works fine if I just need to take a measurement at a single wavelength. However, I want to upload a csv file with a bunch of wavelengths in one column, and I want the LabVIEW program to step through each of the wavelengths and record the voltage in the second column of the csv file (or even a separate csv file if that's simpler).

My attempt:
I was able to append the voltage values to a separate csv in Process 2 but I still have a few problems. The first is how will that wavelength value be converted to a command (!GW xxx) in Process 1. My attempt was to make a column in the csv of all the commands (instead of just a wavelength value). However I can’t connect the Read from spreadsheet file.vi to the command in the block diagram. The second problem is where would I incorporate the for loop such that each wavelength value goes through Process 1 and 2 but back to process 1 for the next wavelength, and repeat. The Scan.csv is all the wavelength commands I want to go through to obtain voltage measurements. 

Thank you!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,342 Views)

I assume reading the file once is sufficient, so that does not belong inside a FOR loop. (and a state enum is not a logical choice to wire to N anyway, right?). Read the file as array of strings. get the first column, and process the values in a FOR loop.