From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to reset the timer and counter when 48 pulses have been counted and the IM speed has been calculated in RPM

Hello everyone,

I am new to Labview and I need assistance.

I am setting up a speed measurement of an induction machine in Labview. The sensor that I am using is an inductive sensor that outputs a digital signal in form of pulses. There are 16 pulses in one revolution. The output of the sensor is connected to the PXIe6363 DAQ through the SCB68 and then I have used the DAQ assistant in Labview to count the number of pulses by recognising a rising edge and ultimately calculate the number of revolutions and speed in RPM. 

I would like my code to perform the following tasks:

1. To calculate/update the speed only after 48 pulses have been counted in each instant, that is, to calculate the speed after 3 revolutions. I am using a tick count as my timer to record the period of the 48 pulses and use this to calculate the speed. I have managed to write a code that does all this by using a comparator (to compare the number pulses that have been counted) and calculating the speed inside the case structure.

2. Once the speed has been calculated/updated from the previous iteration after counting 48 pulses, I would like the code to reset the counter so that it can count the next pulse train of 48 pulses. I would also like the timer to be reset to zero and start recording the period of the new (48) pulses. After this is done, then the new speed is calculated and the process repeats itself again. So the code should be resetting everything and updating the speed accordingly at the end of each iteration. This is where I am stuck. Please assist me.