LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read voltage of device that has no driver in LabVIEW?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Guys,

I am new in LabVIEW world and I have a question about reading voltage.

I have a device (mantracourt-USB strain converter) and I want to measure and see data by using labview. What can I do? Is it possible to add this device to Labview? 

Thanks you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,753 Views)

http://www.mantracourt.com/products/signal-converters/usb-load-cell-converter

"Windows driver DLL’s available"

LV can communicate with DLLs, so you'll need to use this.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,751 Views)

Thanks for your response but my problem is not to install driver of my device, my problem is how to make Labview read my device. I try to use VISA in labview to read the values but I am not sure that I am creating true VI for device. By the way in labview my device is read as COM 11.

Thanks you.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(3,675 Views)

As the documentation for that device states:

The load cell to USB adaptor will communicate as a simple serial device rather than a ‘native’ USB device.

Once the device is plugged into a PC and the supplied drivers are installed, the device will appear as a Virtual Serial Port to the PC.

So yes it is availabel as a COM port as you have found out already and you can use NI-VISA to communicate with the device.

BUT: serial communication is a vendor defined protocol with some common notions but by no means anything that could be considered an official real standard. So in order to communicate with your device over the  NI-VISA functions you will have to get the documentation about the protocol this device supports. In this manual under section C the communication protocol is documented.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(3,665 Views)