LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read in serial data with VISA and store in array

Hello,

I am very new to LabView, and I am trying to read in 12 bytes of serial data using the VISA resource and VISA read.  I would like to display the 12 bytes in an output array, where I can then also plot a specific portion of the 12 byte frame.  Could anyone point me to a good example like this?

I have attached what I have so far, but I am unsure how to display the 12 bytes in an array. Also, is my case statement correctly saying to read the data if 12 bytes are currently at the port?

Thanks for any assistance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,039 Views)

@LKcire wrote:

Hello,

is my case statement correctly saying to read the data if 12 bytes are currently at the port?

Thanks for any assistance.

You forgot to attach your code, but in general if you are using "Bytes At Port", you are doing it wrong.

VI Week 2020/Proper way to communicate over serial

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(2,036 Views)

OK so I was using Bytes At Port, so that is part of my problem... I guess I am still unsure how to add this data into an array so that I can manipulates specific bytes of the data once received.  I think my original code is now attached. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(2,023 Views)

I'm glad to see my presentation is making the rounds...

Ok, the big issue here is how do you know you are properly aligned to your 12 bytes.  Do you have a definition of the message frame?  Based on the very limited information, I would assume you are dealing with raw/binary/hex message format.  With that being the case, the message frame should include a start byte and end with a checksum of some sort.  You use these to make sure you are properly aligned to a message frame.  Yes, please go watch my presentation to understand better.

GCentral