LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read from excel

I have a problem trying to read data from excel spreadsheet.
In the spreadsheet i have columns with data of time, temperature, and density. Each datapoint of temperature and density belongs to a determined time. I want to read these data in pairs: (time - temperature; and time - density) and have them plotted on XY graphs as they are being read. And I want the pairs of datapoints to be read every 1-2 seconds. So, it'd give the impression that they are being "acquired" (by hardware) and plotted at the same time.
can anyone help me? I have some experience programming but i've never done this before with LabView.
Thanks a lot for any help.
Ursula
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,258 Views)
Hi,
All you have to do is go through the labview basics 1 material else go and check out the help for the File I/O functions,read from spreadsheetfile.vi should do your work,else post again yuo will get lots of help.
cheers
vicky
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,254 Views)
You should read the entire file in one read and then go over the array with delays.
Start by saving the file in Excel as a text file.
Then, you need to modify the VI Vicky mentioned to read strings (For some reason it doesn't). You can found instructions for how to do this on its block diagram (just place it in a VI and double click it. And don't worry, it's a simple change). Remember to save it under a different name.
Then, you need to convert the time string into LV time format. You can find a VI which will show you the basic method here.