From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read 2 channels simulataneously with Agilent 53230A

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, first time doing Labview programming so I'm completely new to this. My task is to read the frequency from 2 channels (2 sources) simultaneously and compare the difference between them (if any).

So I've used both the examples and Agilent drivers to get something that gives me the frequency of either channel 1 or 2 depending on the user choice. But how do I get readings from both at the same time? Sorry if there's an obvious solution but I can't seem to get it haha.

Thanks in advance for any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,676 Views)
You have to sequentially read the values because that is the nature of the instrument and communication to the pc but assuming that you've acquired both channels at the same time, the sequential reads are irrelevant. You don't mention the model or the driver but you must not do multiple initiates between reads. The fetch command is typically used for the second reading as a fetch just returns data without performing another trigger and acquisition.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,668 Views)

Hi sorry I'm using Labview 2013 with these drivers: http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.download_page?p_id_guid=974EC4ACB2143B9BE04400144FB7D2...

for the Agilent 532XX Series Counter/Timer.

I've attached my current block diagram below. Sorry I'm not sure what you mean by the fetch command? Are you talking about the SCPI commands? I'm actually just using the drivers as is since i'm even more lost when it comes to SCPI commands.

Thanks for the fast reply!