From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to overlay a pattern on live video capture in LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm brand new to LabVIEW. I learnt using YouTube on how to capture continuous video from my camera and display it using LabVIEW. Below is my block diagram. Next, I want to permanently overlay a pattern  at a selected location on my live video capture, is that possible to do in LabVIEW? 

In particular, when the camera is looking at some circular object, I want to permanently overlay a pattern of concentric circles with cross hairs on the live video capture , with the center of cross hair matching to the center of the circular object in the video. 

Once, I overlay the pattern in the video, I want the overlay to stay there even if my camera is now looking at something else in the world!

image.png

Thanks for looking in this. I appreciate your help!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 23
(2,473 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Swati.Bh

Try the IMAQ overlay functions.  

Documentation here: https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA00Z0000019M2BSAU&l=en-CA

---------------------
Patrick Allen: FunctionalityUnlimited.ca
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 23
(2,423 Views)

Hi Pallen, Thank you so much for the quick reply. I really appreciate it!!

I was trying these overlay functions, but looked like they will work to overlay on an image and not on video?

Could you please let me know if you think that these will work to overlay on continuous video from a camera? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 23
(2,417 Views)

I don't have IMAQ installed on this PC at the moment, but I found a post with some VIs attached.