LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make instrument drivers using dll file of the instrument control software?

Hello everyone,I am still new to labview and I am currently in need to make Labview drivers to control our injection set(ORTS32)..I tried to build VI's to control this instrument

but I am still struggling to establish communication with the instrument.I have attached (see the zip folder) the VIs that I developed as well as all necessary information.e.g instrument datasheet,dll files etc

Please help on how to build the VIs successfully.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,353 Views)

First off, I would recommend putting all these files into a project (.lvproj). Also, you can set error handling on the "Call Library Function Node" to maximum which might (but usually doesn't) give you more descriptive help when errors occur.

So what kind of behavior are you seeing? What do you try that tells you you're not communicating with the instrument? Have you already established communication using the manufacturer's software?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,315 Views)

The information in the ZIP file is kind of dispersed all around.

While the only documentation for the DLL seems to be RES Test Set Control.doc it references the APTSPR.DLL but you have an APTSCOM.DLL. The function names at least seem to match. The function documentation is hardly worth anything as it doesn't document the parameter types well, everything has to be derived from the Visual Basic declaration which leaves more than a little ambiguity open.

However I do notice that the Visual Basic declaration in there doesn't specify a calling convention so it would seem very likely that the DLL uses the default Visual Basic calling convention which is Winapi and that in turn means stdcall on Win32 systems. With that said the cdecl (C) configuration in the Call Library Node inside each VI would seem wrong! Try with stdcall instead.

Also notice the Note under EX_init():