LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to interface Labview with smart phones(android) via Bluetooth?

Hi everyone, 

I am new to Labview and i am trying to use Labview interface with android's smart phones via Bluetooth. my program is a timing system, i wan to use smart phones to control my program like turn on and off the switch,start, stop and reset state in my program. I have no idea how to start. has anyone know how to do ?  

Thanks,

Sam

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(13,433 Views)

Hi Sam.

I'd suggest you check out this article which explains how we can make use of the Bluetooth Palette in order to perform basic Bluetooth Read and Write processes from within LabVIEW.

You can access the Bluetooth Palette by right clicking on the Block Diagram and navigating to Data Communication » Protocols » Bluetooth.

The key requirements for setting up a general Bluetooth connection is firstly making sure that we can detect and acquire the appropriate Bluetooth address for your device from within LabVIEW. You'll be able to configure the device address from within the Android OS Settings. To get started, try making use of the Bluetooth Discover VI; this will immediately have you detecting devices within range.

For actually communicating custom Bluetooth data from your smartphone, you could either take advantage of one of the apps that are freely available from the Android market or create your own Android Application for transmitting Bluetooth. The benefit of the latter is that you'll have direct control on the amount of data that you transmit from your phone and therefore minimise the overall transmission overhead. This gives you the foreknowledge of how many bytes to read when you're communicating your data via Bluetooth.