LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to incorporate dll files into my LabVIEW program

Hello Team,

I am new to LabVIEW and want to read my pyrometer via LabVIEW but there is only DLL files available no VIs. Please, how do I go about this?

Many thanks in anticipation of your help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,194 Views)

It depends on the type of DLL you have. If it is a .Net assembly DLL you would use the LabVIEW .Net functions to access it. If it is a traditional DLL you would use the LabVIEW Call Library Node. Please note that the latter requires you to understand about C programming a bit. This interface is C based and requires to understand the fundamentals of C to be able to make a fully working binding interface. 

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
Message 2 of 7
(1,178 Views)

Might be better to see if there is a programming interface so you can roll your own drivers.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,127 Views)

Help -> Find Examples -> Communicating with external applications (in tree structure) -> Your external type.

A DLL can be of a few types, so depending on which you'll have to use either:
Call library function

.NET (Constructor node + invoke and property nodes)

ActiveX (Automation Open +invoke and property nodes)

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(1,103 Views)

@Yamaeda wrote:

Help -> Find Examples -> Communicating with external applications (in tree structure) -> Your external type.

A DLL can be of a few types, so depending on which you'll have to use either:
Call library function

.NET (Constructor node + invoke and property nodes)