LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to implement lowpass filter to reduce noise in gyroscope values ?

Hi,

I am new to labview and I need help.. I am using myrio with gyroscope, and when I display the gyroscope values I get noise . 

My question is how can I implement lowpass filter to reduce the noise in X , Y and Z rates  of the gyroscope? I searched a lot but I did not understand  how can I know what is the sampling frequency, the low and the high cutoff  frequency. I have attached a screenshot for the outtputs of the gyroscope when it is stabe in the table without moving. Thank you so much.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,126 Views)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-pass_filter

How do you expect us to determine what your sampling rate and frequencies of interest are from a front panel screenshot?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(6,080 Views)

You misunderstood me, the image shows the gyroscope values affected by the nose. My question is : is there any tutorial illustrates how to implemnt lowpass filter to get rid of the noise?

Thanks a lot

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(6,065 Views)

I doubt you will find a tutorial on exactly that subject. There are libraries full of books on filter design and many of them discuss the effects of filters on noise.

If the noise is broadband random noise, then the energy is proportional to the square root of the effective bandwidth. The effective bandwidth is not the same as the -3 dB bandwidth by which filters are usually specified. The exact relationship depends on the type and order of the filter so there is no simple formula.

If the noise is not broadband and random but is concentrated at certain frequencies or bands, it might be better characterized as interference rather than noise. In such cases filters or other signal processing must be designed according to the characteristics of the desired and undesired signals and noise.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(6,044 Views)

Hello SOSOSO123,