LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get Elapsed Timer working in Message Queue(Event-Message Handling Loop)

Hi All,

Good day. Beginner here. I have been developing a LabVIEW code for Pressure Drop project. I am using a relay to control the valve

and motor(switching it on and off). 

I am using Event-Message Handling loop as an example shown from attached screenshot. I can control switching ON/OFF the boolean

controls. However, the Elapsed Timer I am using does not seem to work properly. 

I have been searching some forums here about making the Elapsed Time work, like adding a "Timeout" case from Event Handling loop and do the code from there, however tried it but still does not seem to work properly or maybe I just don't know how to code it properly. 🙂

If someone can help me suggest the better or simpler way on how to get timing working on specific boolean(to switch ON/OFF) using Event-Message Handling loop then it would be great.

I have tried Flat Sequence structure, and the Elapsed Timer seems to work ok without any issues within my code.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Cheers!

StayHappy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,282 Views)

Hi StayHappy123,

I see in your VI that the Reset input of the Elapsed Time VI is wired to a control called Reset Valve Timer. Is the Reset Valve Timer Control the boolean control marked as "Relay 1 - VALVE (ON/OFF)" on your front panel?

I ask this because if the control is set to true and uses a switching action (as opposed to a latching action), the Elapsed Time VI will be stuck at 0.

Best Regards,

Ramsey Doany

Technical Support Engineering

National Instruments

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,252 Views)

Hi Ramsey,

Many thanks for your reply. Yes, the Reset Valve Timer Control is the boolean control for Relay 1 - VALVE(ON/OFF.

This control is set as "Switch when released" as Latching is not allowed for this control.