LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to generate waveform graph real time

Hello,

I am using the DAQ 6501 to convert readings from the encoder on my motor and convert them into RPMs in labview. I need to be able to display this data real time so as to compare it to a hard coded velocity profile that is selected by the user. Attached is my VI file. I have already tested the block diagram in the time loop with my equipment. The only thing that doesn't seem to work is the graph. I need to display a graph of RPM vs Time as the program is running. I am not too sure as to how to go about fixing this since I am new to Labview. I have tried placing the waveform graph VI in and outside my loop but I am unable to get it to display a proper graph. Any ideas as to how to fix this? 

Thanks,

Skins

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(22,396 Views)

Wf. graph will display only the values you will wire into it. If you need to keep a track of data in time, try to use the Waveform chart and customize the history length.

chart example.png

Message 2 of 11
(22,385 Views)

You are using DAQ assistant so are you getting data from that?. If you are getting data from that means there is no problem with the graph you can use it.

@Bublina wrote:

Wf. graph will display only the values you will wire into it. If you need to keep a track of data in time, try to use the Waveform chart and customize the history length.

Actaully chart will not hold the time information it will just display the data depending on the number of data points and holds a buffer so that the historical data can viewed upto a certain period of time. For timing you have to do settings in its property.

-----

The best solution is the one you find it by yourself
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(22,380 Views)

I am not familiar with express data types and express VIs, I am sorry if my post confused you. Talking time i meant some buffer. Anyway, express chart works with time too.