LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to fill out and submit a web form using LabVIEW

Almighty Forum,

This question will require knowledge not only of LabVIEW, but also of HTML, JavaScripting, and possibly more.  I don't know about you, but I have an on-line account for pretty much everything: Bank, Credit Card, Savings, ETrade, 401K, Roth IRA, etc.  About once a day I want to go and check on everything (because I'm an anal engineer), but it takes so freaking long to navigate and login to each site.  Even after favoriting all the links and using cookies to save my "username", I still have to type in my password, hit enter, and wait for each site.  This takes time, time is money, and money is why I'm doing this in the first place; so, I need a better solution.  And since I stand by LabVIEW, I want a LabVIEW solution. 

The solution in my head is something like this.  I have one front panel with an embedded IE browser (in an ActiveX container).  On the side of the browser I have my "favorite" toolbar.  When I click on a button in the toolbar, it takes me to the site and automatically logs me in.  Simple.  Now once that is working I could make a single app with no browser interface that simply went out and queried all my sites for the important values and displayed them on the front panel.  But not to get ahead of myself, I'll stick with my first goal for now.  Baby steps.

So here is what I have now.  I can load www.bankofamerica.com into my browser and automatically enter my "online ID" and "passcode".  I just can't seem to figure out how to submit the form.  I realize that I could just simulate a mouse click on the coordinates of the Sign In button, but that would not be nearly elegant enough for me to have pride in this application.