LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to endlessly create and delete picture programmatically.

Solved!
Go to solution

HI.

I'm a student.
I'm making a Plants VS Zombies type of game in LabVIEW as one of my final projects. One feature of it is the plants shoot out endless bullets to defeat endless enemies approaching.

I'm having trouble on what kind of technique I should use to endlessly programmatically create and delete front panel 2dPicture -that is because, the plants, bullets, and enemies are 2DPicture type.

I don't have that much time to learn about Objects and Draw palette so I kind of cheated the program as all 2DPictures. If it's any info, I have less than a month.

Message 1 of 8
(3,054 Views)

Hello,

you can't dynamically create front panel objects in LabVIEW, you would have to create them manually in advance and manage them programmatically.

A better solution is to draw your objects in a 2D Picture Control. For a first start I attach an example how to animate drawing objects this way.

Greets, Dave
Message 2 of 8
(2,995 Views)

Thank you Dave! Much appreciated 🙂

you can't dynamically create front panel objects in LabVIEW,

Knowing that it is not possible to do so is already a big help for me. I might've spent two or more days looking for it!

For a first start I attach an example how to animate drawing objects this way.

the VI you sent (quite intimidating, those wires are) is an example of drawing object. I haven't grasped around that topic yet but I think that programmatically drawing the object is indeed more proper, but inserting 2DPictures would work the same, so I think I'd still go with the 2DPicture?

A better solution is to draw your objects in a 2D Picture Control

Unless there are other pros for programmatically drawing the 2D (is there?)

And 

you would have to create them manually in advance and manage them programmatically.