From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to employ multiple counters using producer consumer loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I have developed a VI that computes the auto-correlation function in real time using data from one counter and employing the producer consumer loop. Now I want to use two more counters(Three in total) to compute the auto-correlation function from the data obtained from these counter simultaneously. And then display the curves in real time too. 

But since I am new to LabVIEW programming I am confused as to whether I should use multiple producer-consumer loops or I can achieve my goal in the same loop by just adding in different counters and data processing?

What is the most fast and efficient way of doing this? I am attaching my VI that gives me the desired results with one counter? I would appreciate it if anyone can help me with doing the same with two more counters.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,647 Views)

Will all 3 counters always sample at the same rate?   That's a special case that could let you put all 3 counter tasks into a single producer loop.  There you can combine their data and send it off to the consumer loop which can split it back apart for processing.

I'd strongly recommend you start thinking about where you can convert large chunks of block diagram space into re-usable subvi's.  A common rule of thumb is to make the block diagram fit within one screen without scrolling.  I'd suggest you at least try make your producer and consumer loops fit within one screen so that you only need to scroll for the setup and cleanup code to the left and right.