LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a time delay between the start of one simulated signal and another?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

To begin with, I'm fairly new to Labview.

I am trying to use Labview to output 2 different square waves (different frequencies, amplitudes, etc).  I set up 2 different Simulate Signals and have them in a While Loop, however, when I start running the program, I need one square wave to start immediately, and the other square wave to start 2 seconds later.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(6,771 Views)

If you have them in a While Loop, you are going to recreate square waves, over & over again..

How do you want the square waves to relate from one another?  Or are they two discretely different waveforms that are only related by the fact that they are created 2 seconds apart?  Any differences in shape, frequency, etc?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(6,766 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author seitelmark

A couple of questions.

Are these signals frequency related? If so do they have to be "in phase"?   As to starting one simulation after the other, put the one to start later in a case statement, pass into the loop a timer count to establish the initial start time, subtract its value from another within the loop, when the difference is => to 2 seconds set a true flag and have the second simulation in the true case of the case structure.

Typed too slow again!

Putnam
Certified LabVIEW Developer

Senior Test Engineer North Shore Technology, Inc.
Currently using LV 2012-LabVIEW 2018, RT8.5

LabVIEW Champion

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(6,763 Views)