From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a negative feedback on a case structure to estimate gear changes from an array of speeds

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi I am new to programming and LabVIEW and I am trying create a program which can estimate gear changes based on what speed bracket the vehicle falls in. The speed is measured by an OBD device and results are logged to a spreadsheet. I have created a sample program which contains a loop which reads the array of speeds row by row. I have then set up a 2 case structures for 2 example speed brackets each bracket represents a gear (3rd gear 35-54kmph, 4th gear 55-79kmph). My problem is I wish to count how many times the speed changes from one bracket to another to symbolise a gear change. At the moment my program will just count the number of speeds within each bracket from the entire speed array.

So in summary I need help trying to create a negative feedback effect so that the first speed which falls within a speed bracket is counted as a gear change but none of the speeds following it are counted until a new speed bracket is entered.

I have attatched the log file and VI any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Michael

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,380 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author mmahon365

Hi Michael,

I have made a few changes to your code

1. Replaced the 2 case structures with one, which outputs the current gear.