LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a VI with multiple windows/displays?

Hi, I'm new to LabVIEW and just trying to increase my understanding so please bear with me.I want to write a VI where the user is presented with a series of windows and depending on the button, different windows are displayed. What would be the best way to implement this? Is there a way to change the Front Panel all in one VI? Or would it be better to do it using SubVIs? Or separate VIs for each window? I've looked at the Open VI Reference and Invoke Node VIs and can see a possible implementation that way, but I'm still curious if this is the best way. I also considered using tabs, but I want the different "windows" to be unique and not tabs. By "windows" I mean when the user clicks a button, a completely different Front Panel is displayed and the previous one is hidden/closed. Thanks for any help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(11,422 Views)

First.  Yes the property "FP Open" is writable during run time.  So you can programatically show and hide the front panels of several sub vis that your main "launcher" can control.  Another option is to launch sub-vis that are "Modal" so that they act like dialog pop-ups and float to the top until the user performs some action that closes the sub-vi execution.  Personally I use this method frequently for actions like setting test options, selecting test vectors or displaying error information to the user.