LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to convert from string to number

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everoyne, I need to make a simple program calculating the GPA in 5 classes. Where A,B,C,D,F are the inputs for each one..

Here's what I did so far.

Untitled.png

But it seems that it's not recognizing when I assign numeric values for each letter. So I'd appreciate any help. I tested for the output of "GP" and input CT=A (4). The answer for GP should be 4x3=12. But I get a number way off that.

I'm fairly new to Labview so sorry if it's a dumb question.

-Daniel

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,256 Views)

Attach an actual VI with values saved in the controls by default.

I don't see how you are taking a string character and mulitplying it by a number to get a grade point value.  It doesn't make sense.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,253 Views)

Here's the whole problem:

Create a program that calculates the GPA of a semester with 5 classes.

Control theory (3 credits)

Digital Signal Processing (3 credits)

Linear Systems (3 creits)

Directed Independent Study (2 credits)

Control System Lab (1 credit)

The input is either A,B,C,D, or F and the GPA is a number from 0 to 4.

I attached the program that I made.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,244 Views)

You've got numerous problems.

1.  Why are you using the Mathscript node?  I thought you were supposed to be doing this in LabVIEW.  A Mathscript node is not real LabVIEW programming.

2.  Why is your result output an array?  Result is computed as a scalar within the program.

3.  How do you expect to go from a letter grade such as A into a numerical grade?  Your A=4 certainly doesn't do it which just assigns the value 4 to a variable called A.

4. Your actual code takes a string which might have the character "A" within it.  When you multiply that by 3, you certainly are going to get any kind of value.