From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to convert a scalar variable into a 1-D length N array?

Hi guys,

I am new in Labview. I use Labview to accquire the output data from a measurement circuit with RS232 bus. The result needs some mathematical operation to have a meaningful number. After this operation the result is a scalar variable that is changing as new data read from my circuit. I want to see the power spectrum of this signal so tried to use FFT block (Labview 6.1, signal processing->frequency domain->real fft / power spectrum). However because the fft block needs 1-D array type of data as input, I can not just connect my result to the fft block. The error it gives me is:

These cannot be wired together because their data types (numeric, string, array, cluster, etc.) do not match. Show the Context Help window to see what data type is required.
The type of the source is double [64-bit real (~15 digit precision)].
The type of the sink is 1-D array of double [64-bit real (~15 digit precision)].

So I guess I have to do something to convert my result into a 1-D array with a length N, which is the number of data I use for one FFT transform. But the question is how.
I pass the data directly through a For-loop, the result is a 1-D array with all the members having the same value as the input value(my calculated result). Then next time a new result come in, all of the members of that array changes to the new value.

Please help!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 23
(4,087 Views)
Hi Jia,

create a shift register in your while loop, use a "build array" node to add your single measurement values to the shift register to create an array of all values. This array can be wired to the fft function...