LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to convert PDU to Modbus Library's holding register U16

I have set of PDU specs by schneider electric motionstage, it's configured to communicate following Modbus TCP.  I am new to modbus library, but my understanding is that for the PDU I'd like to write (see attach), the modbus library master example set holding register will provide function code 0x10, I will need to set the start writing address to be 0x0043 (decimal 43), which will be part of the  PDU constructor to build final PDU

So, I convert the rest of byte array 00 02 04 208(D0) 00 00 07 with the utility function (Bytes to U16) to 2 1232 0 (https://github.com/NISystemsEngineering/LabVIEW-Modbus-API/tree/master/Utility) , which seems incorrect, because the reverse conversion (U16 to U8) is not correct -> 00 02 04 208 00 00 (missing 7)

How should I correctly set my PDU at the holding register via Modbus Library? (As I am now, disregard I set the holding register as 2 1232 0 or 2 1232 7, I am getting error 538183 (Invalid value)  

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,710 Views)

Why are you calling the low level VIs of the Modbus library? Simply call the appropriate method, most likely "Write Multiple Holding Registers" with the correct register address and data. Let the library build and parse the PDUs.

Mark Yedinak
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours?"
Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald - Gordon Lightfoot
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,699 Views)

In my PDU example, what would be the U16 holding register value be ? I called the low-level utility to check what the U16 value is supposed to be..

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,694 Views)