cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to connect furness controls FCO510 micromanometer to PC via RS232

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I am a newbie at using Labview and any NI products for data logging. I am currently undertaking research to gather data in real time from a Furness Controls FCO510 Micromanometer to perform some analysis of an annular diffuser duct used in gas turbine exhausts. I followed the user manual provided by the company but did not get any results. At first I tried Hyperterminal and then Labview, failing both times to receive any input back from the manometer at all. Also, I am not able to recover any logged data from the micromanometer.

Can anyone give me any hints or guide me as to what should be done to resolve this issue.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(6,988 Views)

Good to see that you have tried Hyperterminal.

Is your cable correct and in Hyperterminal did you set the COM port settings to match the instruments settings (baud rate, data bits, parity, stop bits)?

-AK2DM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"It’s the questions that drive us.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(6,976 Views)

When interfacing a new instrument- find a command that requires no response- ideally a reset command- and FIRST figure out how to send that.

This assumes, of course, that you can tell if it has responded to the reset command.

Often that first step of establishing communication can be a real bottleneck.  

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(6,974 Views)

Baud rate = 9600

parity = none

I have left the other settings to default. The cable is a standard RS232 from the market.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 17
(6,958 Views)

RS-232 can be tricky. Note that there are at least two "standard" cables, a regular (direct connect?) and a null modem cable. If one doesn't work you might want to try the other.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 17
(6,952 Views)

Hi,