LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to connect NI-USB 6501 Device to Front Panel Diagram

I am new to labview. I am trying to use a NI-USB 6501 Device to automatically start my Touch Panel Project vi but I can not find any information on how to do this. I am using DAQ Assistant and can see the device in the measurement and automation explorer and it runs and toggles the switch from green to black. But how do I connect it to my block diagram to automatically run my vi when the pulse is high?

I have attached my vi also.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,444 Views)

I'm not an expert. But probably u can call it as sub VI and use for example a Case Structure with the boolean (pulse is high) as case selector.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,432 Views)

I'm not an expert. But probably u can call it as sub VI and use for example a Case Structure with the boolean (pulse is high) as case selector.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(3,431 Views)

Do not use DAQ Assistant.  Read this excellent White Paper.  Think about how you toggled the Digital Output port you wanted to use in MAX.  If you save what you did as a Task, then you can simply use the Start function from DAQmx, wire a constant to the Task input, click the drop-down box on that constant and find the Task you saved in MAX.  Alternatively, use the minimum set of configuraion functions (as discussed in the White Paper) to select your device, the port you want to use, and write to the port.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(3,419 Views)

Thank you for the response. I have read this white paper I have followed your suggestions. I can see the pulse go on and off in the measurement and automation explorer but again I do not understand how to add this device to my vi to automatically make it run (instead of having to select the run arrow). How do I wire the DAQmx Start? Do I add a case structure?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 14
(3,382 Views)