LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to communicate between an unknown hardware and labview using RS232

I am a student, I have a finger print time attendance device with me. I want to develop an application in labview using tat device as only an attendance log.

all the other control is done from LabVIEW . It has an RS232 port a USB port and an ethernet port. which is the best to use for communication between device and LabVIEW ? I dont know the make of the device so how do i establish communication ?

Thank you 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,916 Views)
Well, you're going to have to find out who makes it in order to get the manual. The device is essentially worthless unless you know how to connect it and what the communication protocol is.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,909 Views)

Is there no other way to find out what protocol it uses ? because i dont think i can access any info abt the manufacturer

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,901 Views)
You don't even have any software that comes with it? If you did, you might be able to monitor communication and reverse engineer it. Since you don't even know how to plug it in, this doesn't seem likely. Is there a part number that you can Google? What happens if you plug in the USB? If it enumerates as a HID device, you might have a chance (though difficult one).
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(2,890 Views)

itried googling the part number. tried using a barcode scanner to figure out what it is, but failed to gat any info. it was a dump in college given to me by my prof to make something out of it. i guess it remains a dump since i cant access any info about it

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 8
(2,882 Views)

Do you have the rest of the school year just to figure out how to communicate with the device?