LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to cheaply measure low current over time while sourcing a constant voltage?

Hi!

I am working on a research project which involves me building and characterizing transistors. I do not have access to expensive current sensing intruments but I do need to plot the current (in micro-apms) over time at a constant source-drain voltage (200 millivolt) and see how this current changes when I manually apply different gate volatges.

I am new to the field of measurement and characterisation. I am also low on financial funding so I was hoping that someone here can guide me towards the right Data Aquisition System and the appropriate LABView code to do this measurement. It would be a great help.

I apologise in advance if I sound way out of my depth in this field. But I am in dire need for some guidance. Any help would be HUGELY appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,152 Views)

Hi Rhydo,

measuring µA is not that easy.

Either use (rather expensive) DAQ devices - or try your luck with an OpAmp to amplify the voltage across a shunt resistor. But don't complain about noise in your measurement data!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,151 Views)

There are op amps out there specifically for conditioning current shunt voltages.  uA will be kind of hard.  You will want a decently sized current shunt and an op amp with a lot of gain.  From there, just use a standard DAQ to read the signal from the op amp.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,145 Views)

Cheap, Reliable, Accurate solutions are seldom seen in the wild.  You MIGHT be able to pick two if you exclude Cheap