LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to average spectra and subtract background spectrum?

Hi there,

I am a chemist with little to no experience with electronics/engineering and I am trying to build a low-cost LDR based spectrometer. The general setup can be described as follows:

-The diffraction grating "splits" the light into its different wavelengths.

-A small region of that light passes through a solution and reaches the LDR where a signal proportional to the incoming light is generated.

-The difraction grating is mounted on a potentiometer, by rotating the potentiometer the wavelength of the radiation reaching the solution can be selected, and therefore a UV-VIS spectrum of such solution can be taken.

(The spectrometer is driven through an Arduino UNO board interfaced with Labview)

I have managed to make a simple VI able to track the signal of the LDR as a function of the voltage of the potentiometer (which can be directly related with the wavelength).However I need the spectrometer to have the following additional features:

-To average several spectra (now when I scan back and forth, all the spectra stack on top of each other).

-To take a background spectrum (of the solvent) and to subtract it from the measured spectra.I thought that this could be roughly done by creating three XY graphs (1-takes the background spectrum, 2- takes the sample spectrum,3- makes the difference between both spectra), right?

The problem is that I don't know where to start from..

Can someone help me to modify my VI?

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,062 Views)

If you save your VI for 2016 or earlier, I will be able to view it. (Maybe save for 2012 so even more people can chime in).

It sounds like you are conceptually on the right track. You don't need to create XY Graphs in LabVIEW for data to exist. Data exists on the wires, even if you don't display it in an indicator.