LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to analyze spikes?

Still learning LabVIEW.

I need to quantify "spikes" in my data. Some typical patterns we see are posted below. I am new to all the analysis that can be done and would like some pointing in the right direction to catch what I need to catch. My process normally gets spikes at certain times that are associated with a DI signal. What I am looking to do is to quantify how high the spike is and how long it stays high.

What analysis function or technique would you point me toward?

Some of both?Some of both?Out of controlOut of controlGood spike example.Good spike example.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,366 Views)

Step 1 is probably separating each occurrence.  If you want to do this automatically, you probably want to start with the "Basic level trigger detection" VI in the "Waveform --> Analog Waveform --> Measurements --> Waveform Monitoring" palette. 

With your example data, you probably want to look for a rising edge of around 100.  Then use the "waveform subset" VI to snip the early part of your waveform that you don't care about.  Then run it again only this time looking for a falling edge around 100, and snip to that as the endpoint, so now you hopefully have a waveform only 

Next you probably want to find the "base" level there.  You could convert the waveform to an array and then take a histogram of the array.  Whichever histogram bin or adjacent bins have the highest count by far should be your baseline level. 

Now you hopefully have a single case combined with a baseline level for that case.  Now you'll want to run the trigger detection again at a higher level than your baseline (probably a percentage difference between the peak and the baseline) to isolate the peak at the end of the wafeform. 

Once you isolate that, there's a few different measurements you could base your pass/fail criteria on:

1. Peak absolute size

2. Peak relative size