LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to advance automatically to a different event structure (one case triggers another)

Hi there,

I am new to Event structures and I am trying to figure out how to programmatically advance to a different even once one has been triggered.  The case I want triggered is where the data is graphed and updated on the front panel which happens frequently during the use of the program.  The event case I want to trigger it is just at the beginning where the data is read in.  Right now the data is read in when the read file button is depressed and I can't figure out how to get to the case where the data is conditioned and graphed.  I think there must be a solution that doesn't require copying all that code into the read file case?  I am trying to figure out how to use these event structures to their full benefit!

Thanks for your wisdom!

Jenn.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(1,384 Views)

You could use a user event:

https://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361R-01/lvhowto/creating_user_events/

Then have both the event cases that should use the shared code both call the same user event, which will then trigger the follow-up event.

There's alternate solutions as well.  For instance, you could wrap your event handler inside of a state machine, and while most events would point right back at the "Wait for events" state, certain ones would go to other states with this sort of common code in it.

Or, if the case you're referring to is a "Value change" event for a control, you can create a property node for the control in question, and write to the "Value (Signaling)" property.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(1,378 Views)

Create a Boolean indicator for your Event and use the Value(Signaling) Property Node to trigger that event when ever you want to run it.

evCapture.PNG