From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Write Waveform graph data to Text File with user option to do so

Solved!
Go to solution

So, I'm new to labview and am having trouble writing one program in particular.  I have a waveform graph that runs for 120 seconds generating a sine curve.  I am, however, having a difficult time getting the program to write the x and y coordinates into a text file.  I have attached what I have so far.  

The first task I was assigned was to write a program that creates a snusoidal curve on the front pannel adding one data point each half second for 120 seconds.  The plot should only start when the user presses a start button.

The next part involves giving the user an option to write the generated data to a spreadsheet file called "sine.txt".  The file name and location should be hardcoded.  The file should contain the x and y coordinates of each data point in columns separated by tabs, also known as delimited.

I have spent several hours tweaking the attached program and I just can't seem to get it to work right.  Any suggestions would help at this point.

Sincerely,

A frustrated chemistry student whose research mentor is out of town 😞

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(7,581 Views)

You are missing the "Sinusoidal Wave.vi" which is what is creating the signal.

I don't understand why you have a 240 iteration For Loop in both cases.

I don't understand why you have nearly identical code in both cases with the only real difference as whether the signal goes to a graph or to a file.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(7,571 Views)