Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Save and Load ROIs?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, 

I'm not experienced with Labview, and need help to figure out the following:

1. How to save single/multiple ROIs (of any shape) drawn on an image?

2. Once saved, how to load ROIs back on the image to the same location?

I searched on nimax forum and found the following reference, but I do not know how to use open, write file functionality as described on this link below: https://forums.ni.com/t5/Machine-Vision/Saving-ROI-of-an-image-in-a-file/m-p/26868

Thank you for your help!

Best,

Swati

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,816 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Swati.Bh

Hi Swati,

You can write the ROI data (from a property node) to a binary file, then read it from the binary file when you want it. 

The "clear ROI" and wait of 1sec is just so you can see the ROI disappearing and being restored.

Capture.PNG

Message 2 of 9
(1,781 Views)

Hi Gregory, This is awesome!! Thank you so much for a quick and detailed reply with the block diagram and explanation!! That's super helpful, I'm going to try it out right away! I really appreciate your time and help!! 

Best Wishes

Swati

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(1,750 Views)

Hi Gregory,

I have been trying to recreate this block diagram to understand the steps and I have the following follow-up questions:

1. How to get 'Clear ROI' module? I tried using property node to get that, but haven't been successful. 

2. What is the purpose of "ROI.bin" input given to the Build Path VI? What does "ROI.bin" signify? Is this the binary file which will have the saved ROI's? And why is the output of 'Build Path VI' connected to both 'Write' and 'Read' VI's ( if the aim is to read ROI from the written binary file)?

What is the motive of adding 'Get System directory' ? Is it because this will allow user to specify the path to which user wants to save the ROI binary file? Could you please explain the sequence in words?