cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Optimize Camera Speed (fps)

Solved!
Go to solution

Good afternoon,

So, I am relatively new to Labview. I have a code to take images and save it to a specific folder. The camera operates at 60 Hz but when I use this Labview program it operates at about 7 fps. I've tried lowering the amount of programs in the while loop and made most settings establish prior to it running, however, it's only improved to the 7 fps. The program does not have to do any processing (yet), simply take and store the images as fast as possible. 

If its necessary to have the images saving in a binary file to make the program reach closer to 60 fps, that may work. I've developed multiple versions of this code to run Binary and AVI but would greatly like to optimize this version specifically to simplify later processing. 

Thank you for your time and consideration into helping solve this!

Sorry I cannot post the Zip yet, the work is in progress within the lab I work for.

- Isaac

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 24
(4,574 Views)

How many images are you going to take?

What the image size/type?

Save to jpg might be faster.

Are you using a SSD hard drive?

George Zou
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 24
(4,564 Views)

I am finding that the camera im using actually caps at 35 fps, which I can purchase a new one later. The program is still only operating at 7 fps though, if I can get it to 35, then we can purchase a new camera. The goal though: I'm wanting to be able to capture up to 60 frames per second and allow the program to run for 20 seconds as a time max, 4 seconds minimum. 

Later Id like to develop a buffer to run the program for up to 5 minutes and take pictures as a sensor gets triggered. 

The JPGs saving right now are 3.25 MB, 2448x2048 Pixels, 8 bit depth. I am using the Basler ace acA2440-35um.

Currently the images are saving onto the Local Fixed computer drive.

Thank you for looking into this!
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 24