LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does the digital data send out through DAQ, serial or parallel?

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear NI family,

I am trying to output 4bit(0000~1111) digital data through 4 lines through DAQ by labview.

But I am curious how does the digital data send out through DAQ, serial or parallel?

For example, if the 4 lines' digital data are 1011 1001 1010 1111, they will be send out in the same time. How will they go? Do they go like serial type (1-0-1-1 1-0-0-1 1-0-1-0 1-1-1-1) or parallel type (just together)?

The type should be serial since only one line for the output 1011, right? If I set the timing control to be 800ms, then 1-0-1-1 each 1 or 0 will take 200ms, right?

Thanks!

Best,

Richard

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,527 Views)

Dear ALL,

Hi there!

I am new with Labview 2016. I am using DAQ PCI6221. I hope to write 4 bit (0000~1111) digital data with 4 lines to a 4*4 matrix of pixel circuit with resistors (like active matrix) row by row. Each line should send serial data and then transfer to analog voltage.

Questions:

1. Could you please show me how to achieve the functions? Is there any snippet or example?

2. How to control the timing?

Thanks very much!

Best,

Jason

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,451 Views)

@leo321 wrote:

If I set the timing control to be 800ms, then 1-0-1-1 each 1 or 0 will take 200ms, right?

No.  The four lines will go to their respective states at the same time, wait 800ms, then go to the next state.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 3 of 14
(3,495 Views)

Thanks for your reply!

So the digits will send to the DAQ and outside circuits in a parallel type, right?

May I ask how to change the 4 lines of digits in a serial way to the real world?