From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do i communicate with AALBORG mass flow controller usinng labview?

Hi Everyone,

I have been trying to read data from my AALBORG mass flow controller via VISA. I have taken the RS485 output and used an RS485 to usb converter made by silicon labs .since I'm new to labVIEW i want know if there is any mistake in the block diagram that i have made. I have been able to read the data from an indicator made from PIC18F2520 through the same converter from this VI.

Along with the Screenshots of the block diagram and front panel i have also attached the screenshots of the write commands to be sent (from the master) to the mass flow controller from the manual. 

Thanks in advance for helping. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,757 Views)

Hi KB,

there are several problems in your VI:

• Don't open the port in each iteration inside the loop - especially when you close it only once after the loop!
  • NEVER USE BytesAtPort when there is a TermChar in use!

Simplified:

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 10
(2,752 Views)

Hi Gred,

Thanks for the help. 

I tried reading from the MFC via the vi you suggested. i'm still not able to read anything. I'm wondering what is the reason. 

Thanks,

KB

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,678 Views)

Hi KB,

@KB0710 wrote:

i'm still not able to read anything. I'm wondering what is the reason. 

When you "wonder what is the reason" you should check the error wire!

Which error do you get?

Do your serial port settings match with the device settings?

Is the serial port itself working correctly?

Can you check with some other software?

Best regards,
GerdW

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10