LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I use the DAQ Assistant subVI to display voltage readings from a potentiometer

Im new to Labview and I need some help setting up a VI to read and display voltage from a potentiometer. Im using a DAQcard 6046E and a SCXI-1322 module to connect my instruments.

The potentiometer is a 3 wire potentiometer. One reference is connected to a 5 volt DC power source, another reference is connected to ground and the wiper is connected to CH+0. 

I am trying to use the DAQ assistant subVI but I do not know how to configure it correctly. When I configure it my voltage readings are completely wrong. How do I configure the DAQ assistant subVI correctly? Or is there a better way to create the VI using other functions?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 28
(3,341 Views)

What do you mean by the voltages are "completely wrong"?  What are you expecting and what are you getting?

It doesn't sound like you are doing anything wrong.  But it is hard to tell since you haven't attached the VI so anyone can take a look at it.Smiley Wink

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 28
(3,335 Views)
are you using a single ended or differential measurement?  is the 5V return connected to the DAQ?

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 28
(3,333 Views)

The potentiometer is connected to a linear actuator, so when the actuator is not extended I would expect the potentiometer to read 5v and when it is fully extended i would expect it to read 0v. The voltage data I am getting is constantly fluctuating even when I turn the external power supply off.

I have one reference of the potentiometer grounded, and the other connected to the 5V power supply so I guess that would be a single ended measurment if I understand you correctly. 

This is what I am doing to configure the DAQ Assistant subVI:

-Analog Input

-voltage

-select the phsyical channel ai0 then click finish

-Change terminal configuration to RSE

-Signal input range -5 to 5

0 Kudos