LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I send an array over endpoint 2 and receive an array over endpoint 1?

Background:

I'm a device developer.  I have an HID device that interrupt transfers over endpoint 1 and endpoint 2.  The device enumerates successfully as an HID on mac, windows, and linux.  I've use a couple different .dll files to communicate with the device using visual studio and python with some success and now I'd like to get it to work in labview.

Status to date:

1.  Successfully installed device hijacker driver so NI MAX can see the device as USB::0x####::0x####::SerialNumber::RAW (# inserted to protect the innocent and SerialNumber is an actual number)

2.  I can see the device in MAX.  Tried to send a line of numbers and something is sent back, but it isn't useful yet.

3.  Tried interruptusb.vi and it doesn't do anything but timeout.

4.  Tried Read USB Descriptor Snippet1.vi and an 18 byte array shows up and the VID and PID are parsed out correctly if the bRequest is Get Descriptor and the Descriptor Type is Device.  None of the endpoint descriptor types return anything.  A bRequest won't trigger a device function.  It needs an array over the out endpoint.

The problem:

Intuitively I'm at a loss of what to do next.  The device needs to receive a command from a 16 byte array gets passed through the out endpoint (2).  Then it will respond with a 16 byte array through the IN endpoint(1).  It seems as though the interruptusb.vi should work, but the interrupt transfer is a receive only demonstration.  How should I format a 16 byte array to go through the out endpoint? Does it need to be flattened?  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,321 Views)

I'll respond to my own question with an answer that is partial.  The device is communicating and labview is getting data, but it isn't always consistent.  Sometimes the communication is corrupt.  I don't know why.