LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I send a CAN signal without having an actual source of a signal?

Hi,

I have a cRIO 9024 with a NI 9853 CAN module.  I am attempting to make a reat time application that can be deployed wirelessly on a vehicle so as to send and recieve CAN signals and log data.  However, I currently do not have the vehicle or the signals that will be used.  I would like to create a VI that would accomplish this and test it without the vehicle as I won't have the vehicle or data signals for a long time from now.  I have looked through the CAN module specific examples and have made a VI but it doesn't seem to be doing what I want.  I am fairly new to both CAN and labview. 

I have done the CAN basic example but it doesn't make any sense to me.  I need something that would be remote and that can recieve any signal sent and log it without any human interaction.  I am currently using the example.ncd as a databse of the channels that would be sent.  That being said, is there a way to send CAN frames from one port to another on the NI 9853 that actually makes any sense? Do I need to make a signal and if so, how?  Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(2,622 Views)

You can ignore the channel API entirely and read and write raw frames. It's been a while since I used a CAN module on a cRIO, but I believe you're reading or writing an array of integers, which you can reformat into a cluster that matches a CAN frame. To send a packet between ports, you need to wire the two ports together, supply external power to CAN1, write a packet on one port and read it on the other. Can you share the code you've tried?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(2,616 Views)

nathand,