LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I read encoder signals using a NI MID-7604 Stepper Motor Drive and LabVIEW?

Hello,

I am fairly new to LabVIEW and was wondering how to implement incremental rotary encoders into a motion control VI.

I am using:
- LabVIEW 8.0
- NI PCI-7344 GPIB Card
- NI MID-7604 Stepper Motor Drive
- US Digital HB6M Rotary Incremental Encoders

I am attaching the VI's we are currently using to control the motors. We were able to get the encoders to work in NI MAX but are not sure how to code them into the LabVIEW VI. Any VI examples would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for the help and advice!

-Kyle

---
College of Aerospace Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,181 Views)
Kyle,

The NI-Motion driver automatically handles the use of encoders.  When you configure your axis for closed loop stepper it will automatically try to pull in to the correct position if it is off for some reason.  If you need to read the encoder position somewhere in your program, use Read Position.flx.

Regards,
Luke H
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,148 Views)
Luke,

Thank you for the response. Where can I find the Read Position.flx? I have searched my hard drive and do not seem to have it. I am using LabVIEW 8.0 and NI-Motion 7.5.

Thanks,
Kyle
---
College of Aerospace Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,081 Views)
Hi Kyle,
The read position.flx can be found on the function pallete (right click on the block diagram) under Vision and Motion»NI Motion»Trajectory. If you do a search on the function pallete for Read position it should come up.  If you still don't see it there let me know.  It is possible that Motion was installed without LabVIEW support. 

Regards,
GG
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(3,064 Views)

Hi,