LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I filter signals from an accelerometer through a bandpass filter and then use the filtered signal to drive an electrodynamic shaker?

I am a student. I am designing the control system for a self resonating cable excitation drive system. My proposed idea is to apply an impulse input to shake the cable initially, and then use accelerometers to measure the vibration. The accelerometer signals are then passed through a bandpass filter that is set to pass the resonant frequency(which is predetermined by experimentation). I then want to use the filtered signal with a variable time delay to drive an electrodynamic shaker that will shake the cable at its resonant frequency. The time delay is calculated from the difference in phase between the input to the shaker and the output of the cable(accelerometer signal).There is a flexible coupling that attaches the cable to the shaker. This allows the cable to move out of phase when compared to the input. Theretically at resonance there should be no flexing of the coupling and the phase difference between the shaker input and the cable output measured at the attachment point should be zero. It is this phase difference that determines the amount of time delay that should be applied in the loop to achieve resonance. I am currently using a compactrio DAQ with analog input and output, and labview professional software. If anyone could help me to do this I would be very grateful.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,540 Views)

Why I'm afraid, that at resonace the shaker and the cable will be 180deg out of phase?? If the coupling isn't flexed, how will there be energy transported into the system?

If you want to do that in 'real time': what frequencies are expected? 

What generator do you have to control via LabVIEW? Changing phase, frequency,amplitude continiously can be tricky with some generators.

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1