LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I extend functionality of a child class from a factory pattern?

Hey Fancy Folks.

Question: How do you extend the funcationality of a child class with a factory pattern setup?

Background: I’m new to OOP.  I wanted to create a Power Supply class that I can reuse and have the basic functions easy to use.  I created a parent class, “Power Supply 2.0” which is basically being used to dynamically dispatch common things I want (set voltage, current, PS output, init child). Those Vis are dynamically dispatched, so their child class can set them correctly.  All my child classes use the power supply manufacturer’s libraries so each “set X” will require its own unique VI. 

Where I’m at: I have created the parent class and have created the child classes for basic functionality.  I wanted to then create various Vis for my child classes to extend their functionality.  Problem comes during edit time.  The parent class, Power Supply 2.0, is the wire type that runs throughout the main program.  However, say I wanted to add in an error query to a child (such as TDK Lambda Genisis child class), how do I specifically create that and use it in the block diagram without having to wire the child class in at the start? 

Attached is a zip file containing a basic set up of the code.  The project can be found at …/Labview Projects\Project Base\Proj.  Once loaded you can see Main.vi in the project window.  There are no controls (there will be when implemented, this is just a proof of concept project to make sure I have things built correctly), so pop on into the back panel.  From there you should see this.Main.PNG