LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I create a prototype front panel for an LCD product?

I have been asked to create a prototype front panel in Labview 8 for a proposed new product, but since I am new to Labview, some aspects are giving me trouble -- in particular how to create a realistic display.

It will have a 8 line by 40 characters wide display, and five buttons (up, down, left, right, select). It is a monochrome display and the current menu selection will be indicated by reversing the text (black background instead of white). The menu items can appear anywhere on the screen. There will also be data present on the screen, formatted to fit the available space (no scrolling in the initial version). In some cases individual characters of the data will need to be reversible (selected for changing a value). For prototyping the data will be read from a file so we can try out different sizes of data sets.

What is the best way to create the display area and control the appearance of the text?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,104 Views)
You can check out these controls and there is also a website called www.mooregoodideas.com for more controls.

Joe.
"NOTHING IS EVER EASY"
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,102 Views)
I have taken a look at the zipped demo, as well as some others from the link in the copyright notice, but since the subvis are password protected, It doesn't help much -- it just shows that it can be done, not how to do it. Because of the need for highlighting the text, I would probably need access to the lower level routines to swap the pixel values.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,080 Views)
In this particular instance the control consists of a series of boolean controls grouped together to to make a digit. Each digit is then grouped to form a full display.

It's simply a question of setting the correct bits to turn on the associated segment as required.